žžƵ Announces 2024 Ownership Advancements

May 07, 2024

The firm has welcomed a new class of principals, senior partners, partners and stockholders from across its multiple disciplines.

žžƵ proudly announces a new leadership class with the addition of four new principals, one senior partner, seven partners and 10 stockholders. Each spring, the firm celebrates the contributions and achievements of talented individuals who have shown exceptional commitment and craftsmanship in their respective fields. Every new member of this ownership group embodies the diversity and leadership that propel žžƵ forward, influencing its culture and projects.

"We pride ourselves on offering a unique pathway to ownership that is, perhaps, more accelerated than at many other firms. Our vision extends well beyond the tenures of our founders and current leaders, focusing instead on fostering and advancing the next generation of leadership. This vision ensures the sustainability and innovation of our firm, and we're excited to honor and welcome our 2024 ownership class. Of note this year is the advancement of four outstanding individuals to the level of principal and our ongoing leadership transition within the firm,” said žžƵ Managing Principal John Sova, AIA.

The following individuals have been elevated to principal:

  • Matt Coen, AIA, architect, has more than 20 years of experience in design and economic development. Since joining the firm, he has been instrumental in ushering in žžƵ's next chapter, guiding žžƵ’s strategic direction and inspiring the firm to find innovative, meaningful solutions that resonate across communities. 

  • Catrina Cook, NCIDQ, is a Gallup-Certified Strengths Coach focused on what she believes is žžƵ’s greatest asset: its people. Her more than 20-year career started in interior design and subsequently transitioned to leading the firm’s talent development and workplace culture efforts. Since coming to žžƵ, Catrina has helped redefine the firm’s recruitment and retention processes, ensuring each team member feels not only welcomed but celebrated.

  • Nate Gieselman, AIA, NCARB, architect, brings more than 25 years of experience designing healthcare and health science education projects. As a leader of žžƵ’s healthcare market and the firm more broadly, Nate has been crucial to advancing žžƵ’s culture of teamwork, collaboration and innovation.

  • Laura Kessel, PLA, AICP, is an urban planner with more than 18 years of experience creating vivid, livable spaces where people can thrive. She is a passionate advocate for creating and sustaining inclusive environments and, in her time at žžƵ, has helped shape critical policies and practices that promote diversity within the firm and to serve communities throughout the region.

žžƵ Principals hold themselves accountable to the highest standard. They lead by example and inspire others to do the same, raising the bar for the firm and their practice. They are deeply trusted and looked to for guidance, offering professional mentorship to people across the firm to advance individual careers and elevate žžƵ’s work. Pictured (L-R): Matt Coen, Catrina Cook, Nate Gieselman, Laura Kessel.

The following individual has been elevated to senior partner:

žžƵ Senior Partners are innovative leaders who continually reach higher and consistently deliver their best, leading others to do the same and make meaningful contributions to the profession and community. They demonstrate mastery of their role within žžƵ and actively offer mentorship and guidance to those in similar roles.

The following individuals have been elevated to partner:

  • ڴԲܳ,&Բ;

  • Kerry Cheung, AIA, LEED Green Associate

  • Molly Haas, AIA

  • Gina Lorkovic, NCIDQ, LEED AP

  • ܲپ&Բ;ѴDz԰DZ

  • Tony Montgomery

  • Chris Turner, AIA, CSI, CDT

žžƵ Partners are dedicated professionals whose expertise and commitment enable the continued achievement of the firm and our clients. They seek out new ways to improve the organization and the quality of žžƵ’s culture and work. Pictured front (L-R): Kerry Cheung, Molly Haas, Gina Lorkovic, Justin Monroe, Jeff Biernbaum; back (L-R): Tony Montgomery, Chris Turner.

The following individuals have been elevated to stockholder:

  • Amelia Dery, AIA, NCARB

  • Sam Edmundson

  • Steph Ferguson, PCM, CDMP

  • Cody Hillen, AIA, NCARB

  • Erin Jackson, SHRM-CP

  • Chase Lilleholm, BFA

  • Mark McLaughlin, AICP

  • Lea McRoberts, AIA, LEED BD+C, WELL AP

  • Alex Nickels, NCIDQ, LEED Green Associate

  • Flavia Rodrigues

žžƵ Stockholders are talented individuals who are fundamental to our evolution, growth and culture. They help foster a collaborative work environment and seek out ways to better their profession and community. Pictured (L-R): Alex Nickels, Amelia Dery, Flavia Rodrigues, Sam Edmundson, Mark McLaughlin, Cody Hillen, Erin Jackson, Steph Ferguson, Lea McRoberts; not pictured: Chase Lilleholm.
Written by Erin Van Zee, Communications Director